Who’s the fairest of them all…

Apparently, I am!  Well, actually, it’s my skin.  Fairest skin of them all, I should say.

So said the plastic surgeon I met with today, who is, like the breast surgeon I met last week, also absolutely lovely.  He was kind, thorough, let us ask questions, explained everything, took his time….I really do feel great about my MGH “team” so far.  We had arrived 30 minutes before our scheduled appointment, were taken in right away, seen early, and got out before rush hour – bonus!

Bad news, thanks to my fair and thin skin: two surgeries.  Mastectomies with “expanders”, then several months later after lots of healing and…you guessed it…”expanding”…I will get implants.  And maybe lipo to hide said implants and make them look more natural.  Who knew??

Other bad news, and maybe TMI: can’t keep my nipples.  Oh well!  They served their purpose well…not like I really need them anymore?  At least that’s how I’m going to look at it.

Unexpected news: getting tattoos.  At age 40, I will be getting my first tattoos!  Nipple tattoos!!  C’mon, you’ve gotta laugh with me on this one.  Please!!

There will be other unpleasantries such as weekly trips to Boston post-op for drain (don’t ask) management and the above noted “expanding” process.  I will have to schedule some lunches with my Boston folks to make this more bearable 🙂

I’ve been told by several sources that I will be living in button-down shirts for a while post-operatively.  This is not a strength area in my closet, so I will be gladly accepting donations of old, ugly, worn-out button-downs.

A little over two weeks away from D-day, 5/19…SCARY…but the incredible outpouring of support from my family, friends, colleagues, work family and others has literally blown me away.  I know with everyone behind me I will get through this, and I can’t thank you all enough for how you’ve made me feel.

MWAH!!!  xoxo

7 thoughts on “Who’s the fairest of them all…

  1. Alex, what size shirt do you think you’ll be wearing during the, um, “expansion process”? I’ll have a look-see in my closet and would be happy to send. What about shirts with wide and stretchy necks? I have a ton of those from breastfeeding. Nipples are overrated. Maybe play a joke on your doctor and ask if you can get them in green. Xoxo – stay brave and funny. You rock.

    Like

    • I’m going to guess a medium, just to give me plenty of room for the, ick, drains and bandages and what-not. Problem will be lifting my arms above head height, so shirts which are open in the front are best. I’m envisioning myself in a robe most days…xoxoxo

      Like

  2. Alex, I have s friend who went through a very similar set of surgeries and procedures (including tattoos as the grande finale). Do you want me to send you her info for camaraderie and tips?
    You’re a rock star.
    Xxoo

    Like

  3. Alex,
    Lol on your new tattoo!
    You’re an inspiration! 😊
    You got some many on your side helping you fight this fight, remember you’re not alone! We’ll be here always!
    Button downs huh? I know you’ll rock them!
    Chin up, sending you so many positive vibes and keeping you in my prayers!
    😚💗

    Like

  4. Alex,
    Lol on your new tattoo!
    You’re an inspiration! 😊
    You got so many on your side helping you fight this fight, remember you’re not alone! We’ll be here always!
    Button downs huh? I know you’ll rock them!
    Chin up, sending you so many positive vibes and keeping you in my prayers!
    😚💗

    Like

  5. you are such a strong woman and thankfully have a sense of humor… tattoos are great, you know me. be creative get kisses as nipples 🙂
    thinking of you
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

