Baby steps

Today is the two-week post-op mark, hooray!

I just got back from my first bit of post-op exercise which was a nice, brisk walk.  It wasn’t far, and it wasn’t fast, but it felt great – and the weather is absolutely gorgeous here today, so that also helped.

One of my bestest, nearest and dearest friends came with me to my appointment yesterday (wound check, everything looks great), and we went to lunch at Figs on Charles Street afterwards.  It was awesome, and so was the Sangria.  Seriously, it was like some magical nectar from the Gods.  I’ve got to get that recipe…

And, I’ve changed my mind on the whole bury-my-head-in-the-sand attitude that I had the other day.  Yesterday, while I was getting ready to head into MGH, Uptown Funk was on the radio and I was gettin’ funky with my bad-ass self when it hit me – what good does worrying do me while waiting to get these scans and their results?  Why should I make myself sick with fear and mope around being miserable?  That’s just not me.  So I’ve come to accept that there is more unknown ahead.  I will take things one day at a time, one hurdle at a time.  And whatever is in store for me, I will fight like hell.

But I will also appreciate the little things with this new attitude of mine.  Slowing down to a walk is a good thing for me right now – I get to notice all the details more.  And I will ask all of you to do the same as well – just slow down a little.  You’ll be amazed at what you see, hear, smell and feel.

So, one day at a time.  Baby steps.  Don’t forget to slow down.  And when you have the choice, always get the Sangria.

xoxo

IMG_5062

(Stop and smell the roses!)  🙂

4 thoughts on “Baby steps

  1. This message made me smile! I wasn’t sure what to say to you after your last blog, my first thought was “NOOO please don’t bury your head in the sand!” But, you have EVERY right to feel every emotion you’re going through right now & I think it’s fantastic that you share every side of that with all of us. You remind me to stay strong & to not sweat the small stuff. I continue to keep you in my thoughts everyday. HUGE HUGS from me and Coop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

