Small victories

I’ll take ’em – the small victories, that is…like now being able to put on a shirt over my head (and to take said shirt OFF over my head!).

I went to the Healing Garden yesterday and had my “intake” visit as well as a Shiatsu session.  “She-a-what?”, you’re probably asking yourself, and that’s a great question!  Shiatsu means “finger pressure” in Japanese, and is a form of bodywork based on traditional Chinese Medicine.  It’s like a combination of acupressure and massage, which is intended to balance the body’s Qi (our vital life energy!).  The practitioner uses hand and finger pressure along the meridians (also called energy channels) and acupoints to promote the smooth flow of Qi.  This may sound like a load of malarkey to some of you….

But it was AHHHHH-mazing, that’s all I have to say.  You know how sometimes your stomach will make strange noises at the most inopportune times – like when the room you’re in is total silent (of course)?  Well, within a minute of this woman starting to work on my right leg, my stomach started making the most ridiculous noises like it was doing somersaults inside me.  So I kind of giggled and apologized, and she was like, “No, that’s normal, I’m working on your gastrointestinal meridian!”.  My stomach continued to make these absurd noises while she worked on both my legs, and when she moved to my arms it completely stopped.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t make my stomach do somersaults on command!  It was a great experience, and I felt fabulous and relaxed afterwards.

Then, last night I got to hang out with some wonderful moms from my town, and can you guess what we had??  A Sangria tasting – yummy!!  We had lots of laughs, and it felt great to just hang out.  When I got home, I got into bed – which I now need to explain a little: since the surgery, I’ve slept in a “pillow nest” – essentially, using a big pillow wedge behind my back, with a pillow under my head, a pillow under each arm, and a pillow under my knees.  It’s still been uncomfortable to sleep on my sides (my favorite, and ohhhhh, how I’ve missed it!), although I’ve been working on getting there and tend to sleep halfway between being on my back and being on my side.  So I got into my “nest” and it just didn’t feel right.  I pulled out the pillow from under my knees.  Nope, still not right.  Dare I pull out the wedge pillow (gasp!)?  Oh, I did, and it was glorious – I used one of my arm pillows to buffer my chest and….voila!  I was on my side.  At last!

VICTORY.  A small victory, yes, but like I said, I’ll take it!!

Now I’m off to pack for our week on Nantucket where I get to see my entire family and our nearest and dearest family friends.  It’s going to be pure bliss, as it always is on Nantucket.

So, for today: here’s to small victories and getting your toes in the sand and salt water!

XO

6 thoughts on “Small victories

  1. Have a glorious time, Alex!!
    Love Nantucket. Except in December. FROZE to near death one year when we went
    to the stroll.
    PS: I think they are big victories!!
    Qi Gong is a pretty cool thing, too.

    Like

  2. Yeah!!! Every victory: big or small, is a win! Especially when it comes to sleeping!!
    So happy you had a blissful moment at The Healing Garden. xoxo
    Enjoy Nantucket and the healing power of the ocean. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

