To shampoo, or not to shampoo…that is the question!

So, I’m not quite sure what to do with this buzz cut of mine in the shower.  Shampoo it?  Don’t shampoo it?  Soon enough I’ll have a Mr. Clean shiny noggin….but again – what do I do in the shower with my smooth dome – regular soap?  Still use shampoo??  Sheesh, the questions I never thought I’d have to ponder…

I do have to say that having short hair is making life A LOT easier.  This is coming from a girl who has colored her hair since high school, and who has gone to great extents to keep said colored hair up to snuff.  Let’s not even get into the fact that half of my hair is (?was?) curly, so I would have to do battle with it on an almost daily basis.  Straightening treatments.  Flat irons.  Products galore.  First world problems, for sure.

Here’s just one example of how life is easier, aside from the shorter showers and getting ready times:  It’s hot and humid here today.  I got into the car to meet Austin for lunch – and I rolled down the windows, cranked up the radio….wait a minute, back up – I rolled down the windows?!  In the heat and humidity?  Whaaaaaaat?  Yup.  Didn’t have to worry about the wind messing up my ‘do, or my hair getting frizzy from the humidity.  That was pretty awesome.

This losing-my-hair business has been a liberating, enlightening experience.  It’s made me realize how much importance I (FOOLISHLY) placed on my hair, and how this really isn’t a big deal in the grand scheme of things.  The stigma of our hair in society is powerful, but I now feel somehow…just plain over it.  Kind of like a hill! 🙂

Downsides to baldness as an otherwise healthy looking woman?  The stares from people in public.  And at this moment, kind of looking like I have mange because my hair isn’t totally gone yet.  Oh well, this too shall pass, as my very wise mother always says.

I want to give two shout-outs before signing off.  One is to my awesome, best-brother-in-the-world who shaved his head in solidarity…and who may not talk to me for posting his pic….love you, Mr. Reaction!!!

IMG_6284

Second shout-out is to my partner-in-crime, my Wonder Twin, my best-hubby-ever, who has also shaved his head to show his support of what we’re going through:

IMG_5560

So, there you have it, ladies and gentleman.  Hair…it’s over-rated.

xo

9 thoughts on “To shampoo, or not to shampoo…that is the question!

  1. I agree on the hair. Only Tim preferred to be the one under the razor! I didn’t do it for him LOL! There are so many things society would like us to fixate on, when really the thing that matters it the people in your life!!. Love you lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you!!!! I feel liberated too. I’m going to just stop worrying about my “roots” and the fact that I haven’t been to the hairdresser when I should have been. 🙂 🙂 xoxox
    I’m thinking shampoo is overrated too!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You (all) look fantastic. Having just come home from spending a ridiculous amount on color care, I think you are on to something. You are a woman with style and humor, the best! Xox

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ditto for me with the hair color and flat iron (though I must say I never would have guessed either for you). So… at least there are some pluses here. As for public viewing, the interesting thing (and this is true) is that I never before focused on how beautiful your face is- bone structure, eyes , cheekbones, all of it. Well, natural beauty does run in your family. Sending love and saying prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You look soooo absolutely beautiful Alex!! I would still use shampoo or a gentle kids natural shampoo on your noggin :)))) Sooooo liberating isn’t it?! Loveeee the feeling when the wind blows thru the shaved head… Love you so much my sweet free spirit strong amazing friend!! Xoxoxoxo -love, Mishi

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Alex,
    How are you doing today? I had my post-op appt. yesterday; we reviewed the final pathology report with my surgeon. It confirmed that my cancer was Invasive Lobular Carcinoma, Stage 2a, cancer free nodes, ER positive. Today will see plastic surgeon ….! Looked at my surgery site, finally, which is not attractive, but thank God, cancer free! Also, will meet with the doc regarding Tamoxifen, and some newer drugs. Still a lot of pain, but each day feeling a little better. Can’t wait to get my four drains taken out. Maybe today!

    Sending you prayers, and lots of love!!
    XOXO,
    Janis
    Sent from my iPad
    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

