Surprise!

I had my first radiation treatment today!  Before anyone gets in a tizzy, I wasn’t expecting it to start today, either.  Today was supposed to be the follow-up from my appointment two weeks ago, to do additional measurements and possibly more tattoos.  Apparently all the calculations and physics worked out the way they were supposed to though, hence I was able to get my first treatment today.  I’m hoping to take a few pics of the machine I have to lie in, as well as the ceiling I get to look at while I’m sitting there (it’s pretty!).

Radiation is quite simple, actually.  The only thing I have to do for 10-15 minutes is lie still and breathe normally.  Well, that sounds easy…until you get an itch on your nose (which I did today), so you have to get all Zen and figure out how to ignore the nose itch while your hands are going numb from being raised over your head 🙂

The past two weeks really felt like I was in limbo though…healed enough from the surgery to feel “normal”, but then waiting for radiation to start.  Ya’ll know how much I like waiting, right??

On the way home from Emerson today, I heard Adele’s new song, “Hello”.  I laughed as it occurred to me that my body and I should be singing this song to each other.  I really feel like I treated my body well, and it betrayed me with cancer.  As I’m going through the last part of my treatments, and with the help of a “Life After Cancer” book, I realize that I will have to forge a new “me” moving forward.  My body and I will have to figure out our new relationship as well.  I’m sure there will be bumps in the road along the way, but I am most certainly changed from this experience.

The boys and I were watching video that we took from last Christmas of all of us opening our gifts.  I looked at myself and thought, “Wow, I didn’t have a clue what was coming”.  It’s interesting to look at things like that now – I don’t think it’s a bad thing, just an interesting new perspective that I have.

I think it’s safe to say that I’m going to savor the precious moments I have with my loved ones, and I’ll try not to sweat the little annoyances…you can be sure to remind me of this if you ever think I’m getting off track…

But for now, it’s ONE DOWN and 27 TO GO!

I will probably let you know how things are going every week or so as I move through these treatments.  In the meantime, I’m sending much love to you all and hope that you are happy, healthy and safe this holiday season!

XOXO

3 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. Alex- so glad you’ve started. The sooner started, the quicker it’s over. I read somewhere once that if you have an itch that you can’t scratch, you can use your mind to do it- you just focus on your inner self doing the scratching. Hope that makes sense. Sending you much love- Nan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are such an inspirational person Alex. I love reading your posts. Your possitive attitude helps keeps me on track (thank you for that) and always reminds me to stop worrying about the little things. I love you, we need to plan another get together… Maybe just the girls next time!

    Keep sharing your experiences. I will be thinking of you! Muah Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

