Gulp.

But it’s a good “gulp”, I promise!

Remember those hills I waxed so eloquently on way back when?  How I “eat hills for breakfast”, and “it’s just a hill, get over it”??  Boy, am I going to be eating those words over the next few months.

Until April 17th, 2017, to be exact.  The 121st running of the Boston Marathon.  You’ve heard of Heartbreak Hill, right??  GULP.

On a whim, I submitted an application to Mass General’s Marathon team…and don’t you know it…they accepted me.  For their Pediatric Oncology Team.

So, I’m excited and a little scared…I’ve run the Boston Marathon once before in 2005 when it was 93 degrees…but that was 12 years ago, before kids, before cancer…gulp-itty-gulp-gulp-gulp!

If you’re so inclined, please feel free to visit my fundraising page to read my blurb on why I’m running, and to see some pics from the last year:

I plan to keep posting here to report my progress with my long runs, not only for accountability but hopefully for some support from my biggest fans – YOU GUYS!!  It helped me so much throughout last year, and I know it will help me with the long miles (and hills!) ahead.

Here’s to a mild winter and a cool, cloudy day on 4.17.17!

XO

5 thoughts on “Gulp.

  1. So excited to hear from you, and so excited FOR you, Alex! Think of you often, and always keep you in my daily prayers (you are on my prayer list…so you are stuck with me, lol!).

    I sent you an e-mail last Spring, but it aborted; suppose you changed your address! Would like to keep up with your new adventure. Have a few personal updates to tell you about too!

    XO, Janis

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a Reply

