Put A Cork In It!

Well…it’s done.

It didn’t necessarily go as planned (way too hot out for me), took me a lot longer than I had hoped (grrrr!)…but it was still an amazing experience.  To be cheered along from start to finish with people yelling your name, thanking you, giving you high-fives and snacks along the way – it was truly wonderful in those regards.

And I had a little guardian angel, Jen, running with me – a fellow cancer survivor who entered my life only a few short weeks ago when we met doing our 20-mile training run…without her by my side, I would have walked so much more, struggled so much more.  Our mission was the same: FINISH.  We joked that the amount of time we spent running the marathon was the same amount of time it takes for one chemo infusion…and we agreed that we’d both rather be running in too-hot conditions than to be getting another round of chemo.

Jen and I also agreed that running this marathon served multiple purposes, the most important of which was to put a cork in the bottle we both call “Cancer”, and to now toss it far into the ocean…hopefully to never return to shore again.

Without the support from each of you that are reading this, I would not have been able to run this marathon.  For that, I’m eternally grateful.  As much as you all say I’m “amazing” and an “inspiration”…it’s thanks to your love and support that has made it all possible.

Having cancer sucked, don’t get me wrong – but it allowed me to see and appreciate the love from my family and friends.  Now THAT, is priceless.  And I wouldn’t change it for anything.

XO

Finish2017

6 thoughts on “Put A Cork In It!

  1. Cheers to you and that cork! You are a blessing to many and your energy makes me smile! So glad to call you friend, love you, Alex❤️

    Like

  2. Alex you’re such a wonderful person and your determination has inspired me more than you know.
    Congratulations!
    Thank you! ♥😘

    Like

  3. I’m so inspired, proud, and simply honored to be a part of your journey! I wanna grow up to be like you Miss Alex! ❌⭕️❤️❤️

    Like

  4. So so happy for you! You ran and FINISHED the freaking Boston Marathon! Throw that bottle far and let it sink to the bottom! Much love❤

    Like

  5. Amazing job Alex!!! Words will never express just how proud I am of you, and how much you have and continue to inspire me.. love you to the moon and back babe!! Xoxox •love, Mishi xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

